Home > Topical issues > Paragliding

Safety Guidance on Paragliding Activities

Introduction

  • Paragliding is a sport and recreational activity. However, similar to other outdoor activities, it also carries inherent safety risk. Improper practices can put you and others at risk of serious injury or even death. It is therefore of paramount importance that both beginners and experienced paraglider pilots recognise the risks and take appropriate safety measures to ensure that the paragliding activities are conducted in a safe manner.

  • Article 48 of the Air Navigation (Hong Kong) Order 1995 (Cap. 448C of the Laws of Hong Kong) stipulates that a person shall not recklessly or negligently cause or permit an aircraft (which includes paragliders) to endanger any person or property. Paraglider pilots shall observe this regulation and operate the paraglider in a safe manner at all times. Any person who contravenes with this regulation is subject to prosecution.

  • The Air Transport (Licensing of Air Services) Regulations (Cap. 448A of the Laws of Hong Kong) stipulate, inter alia, that a person must not use any aircraft (which includes paragliders) for the provision in Hong Kong of any air service except under, and in accordance with the conditions of, a permit granted by the Director-General of Civil Aviation (DGCA). In other words, any offer of air service performed by paragliders for hire or reward in Hong Kong without a permit granted by the DGCA would be in contravention of the relevant provision in Cap. 448A. (See section below on Permit Application for Paragliding Activities for Hire or Reward).

The following are the general safety guidelines on paragliding activities:

  1. Operating conditions

    • Paragliding activities shall only be conducted during daylight hours and in visual meteorological conditions. Paraglider pilots must remain clear of clouds and in sight of the ground at all times.
  2. Paragliding sites and operating altitudes

    • The limited airspace in the Control Zones (CTR Zones) and Uncontrolled Airspace Reporting Areas (UCARAs) of Hong Kong is shared among all local airspace users, such as helicopters and light aeroplane.

      The CAD notes that paragliding activities are frequently carried out during daylight hours in the following eight areas of CTR Zones and UCARAs. To notify other local airspace users of the possible paragliding activities therein, these areas, including the designated site boundaries and operating altitudes, are published in Section ENR 5.5 of the Hong Kong Aeronautical Information Publication (HKAIP) (https://www.ais.gov.hk/eaip_20200521/VH-history-en-US.html).

      • (i) Long Ke Wan
      • (ii) Pak Tam Au
      • (iii) Pat Sin
      • (iv) Ma On Shan
      • (v) Sai Wan
      • (vi) Shek O
      • (vii) South Lantau East
      • (viii) South Lantau West

      Paraglider pilots are advised to keep their paragliding activities within these areas to ensure safety.

    • Paraglider pilots shall also avoid paragliding activities over or land on any bathing beaches/or land on any private premises without permission from the landowners.
  3. Before the flight, paraglider pilots are advised to:

    • Ensure that they are appropriately qualified, competent and fit to conduct the paragliding activity.
    • Ensure that they hold adequate insurance coverage, particularly third party insurance coverage, for the activity.
    • Be familiar with the site particulars, including the boundaries of paragliding sites as published on the HKAIP, the suitable take-off/landing areas of the site, and the potential hazards.
    • Conduct a risk assessment, including but not limited to the prevailing site conditions, and understand the risk of the activity.
    • Check the weather condition including weather forecast of the site to ensure it is suitable for the paragliding activity, and verify that there are no applicable weather warnings or approaching inclement weather.
    • Ensure that the paraglider, harness and safety equipment are in good condition with no tears, broken lines, or frayed webbing. Paraglider and harness should be operated within the weight limits of the equipment.
    • Perform a pre-flight check on the equipment before inflating the wing to include but not limited to:-
      • - Harness leg straps are fastened
      • - Wing is connected in the correct orientation
      • - Speed system is attached
      • - Brake lines are not twisted
      • - Reserve parachute pins are secured (if applicable)
  4. During the flight, paraglider pilots are advised to:

    • Maintain a good lookout at all times and avoid collision with other paragliders/aircraft following applicable paragliding rules and internationally-recognised practices.
    • Maintain adequate separation from other paragliders/aircraft taking into account the prevailing weather conditions, their proficiency level and maneuverability of the paraglider.
    • Keep a safe distance from people and property on ground, and ensure that no person and property would be endangered by the paragliding activities.
    • Fly within the limits of their abilities and those of the paraglider equipment.
    • Be cautious of sudden change of weather conditions and land immediately if weather deteriorates.
  5. Tandem paragliding

    • Tandem paragliding entails additional operational considerations and poses additional safety risks. Apart from the additional safety measures that must be taken by the paraglider pilot and/or operator in association with the tandem activity (such as the conduct of a more robust risk assessment of the additional operational and third party (including passengers) risks involved, attainment of appropriate pilot qualification and competency required for such tandem activities, etc.), paraglider pilots shall carry adequate insurance coverage for the passengers for the activity. Paraglider pilots shall also ensure that the passengers are fully aware of the risks involved in the activity.
    • If the tandem paragliding activities may involve hire or reward, please also refer to the legal requirements as highlighted in Paragraph 6.
  6. Paragliding for hire or reward (including instructional flights)

    • The Air Transport (Licensing of Air Services) Regulations (Cap. 448A of the Laws of Hong Kong) stipulate, inter alia, that a person must not use any aircraft (which includes paragliders) for the provision in Hong Kong of any air service except under, and in accordance with the conditions of, a permit granted by the DGCA. In other words, any offer of air service performed by paragliders for hire or reward in Hong Kong without a permit granted by the DGCA would be in contravention of the relevant provision in Cap. 448A.
  7. Remember to:

    • EXERCISE GOOD AIRMANSHIP; AND
    • KEEP YOUR ACTIVITY SAFE.

Permit application for paragliding activities for hire or reward

  • Should any individual or organisation wish to apply for a permit under the Air Transport (Licensing of Air Services) Regulations (Cap. 448A of the Laws of Hong Kong) for the operation of paragliding activities for hire or reward in Hong Kong, they shall submit an application to the CAD. The application form DCA 122B "Application for Permission to Operate Non-Scheduled Services for Hire or Reward (Paragliders)" can be downloaded here.
  • For paragliding activities that are not for hire or reward, a permit from the CAD is not required. To ensure that the paragliding activities are conducted in a safe manner, paraglider pilots are advised to refer to the above section on Safety Guidance on Paragliding Activities.
  • The required information and supporting documents are listed in the Checklist of Required Supporting Documents appended in the application form DCA 122B.
  • The completed application form and checklist, together with all supporting documents, should be submitted to the CAD at least 28 working days prior to the date of the proposed flight for which the permit is required. Depending on the complexity of the proposed operation, extra time may be required for processing the application. Permit applicants, in particular first time applicants, are therefore advised to submit the application to the CAD as early as possible.
  • The application should be submitted by email to paragliding@cad.gov.hk. The required documents shall be either in PDF or MS Word format for text files, and PDF or JPEG format for photo files. Incomplete or insufficient information may delay the application process.
  • The applicant is required to submit an Operations Manual and other supporting document(s)/information to CAD for considering his/her permit application. The CAD will consider the application from aviation safety perspective based on a set of criteria.

Hong Kong Air Law Examination (Paragliding)

  • Paraglider pilots/paragliding instructors, who wish to apply for the abovementioned permit for hire or reward, have to attain a pass in the Hong Kong Air Law Examination (Paragliding) in support of the application. Subject to the submission of the application form and required supporting documents, separate arrangement will be made for the applicant to attend the examination. The objective of the Hong Kong Air Law Examination (Paragliding) is to assess their understanding of the aviation regulations, flight rules and local operating environment in Hong Kong. The Air Law Examination (Paragliding) Syllabus is available here.

Enquiries

主頁 > 專題資料 > 滑翔傘

滑翔傘活動安全指引

引言

  • 滑翔傘是一項運動和消閒活動,但一如其他戶外活動,操作滑翔傘亦有一定安全風險。不適當操作滑翔傘可對自身和他人帶來嚴重傷亡的風險。因此,不論是初學者或具經驗的滑翔傘愛好者,均須充分了解風險和採取適當的安全措施,以確保滑翔傘飛行活動安全地進行。

  • 根據《1995 年飛航(香港)令》(香港法例第448C章)第 48 條,任何人士不得因魯莽或疏忽操作航空器(包括滑翔傘)而危害他人或財產的安全。滑翔傘飛行活動者須遵守上述規定,並時刻以安全方式操作滑翔傘。任何人士如違反上述規定,可被檢控。
  • 《空運(航空服務牌照)規例》(香港法例第448A章)訂明,除根據和按照民航處處長批給的許可證的條件,任何人不得使用任何飛機(包括滑翔傘)在香港提供任何航空服務。換言之,任何人士在未獲民航處處長批出許可證的情況下,以滑翔傘提供任何航空服務作出租或受酬,即屬違反第448A章的相關法例。(請參照以下有關申請出租或受酬的滑翔傘活動許可證的部份)

以下是關於滑翔傘活動的一般安全指引:

  1. 操作條件

    • 只可以在白天及具備目視氣象條件的情況下進行滑翔傘飛行活動。滑翔傘飛行活動者須遠離雲層,並確保能時刻清楚看到地面。
  2. 滑翔傘場地及操作高度

    • 香港管制區和非管制空域報告區的空域有限,供所有本地空域使用者(如直升機和小型飛機)共同使用。

      民航處注意到滑翔傘飛行活動通常於白天在下列八個管制區和非管制空域報告區的空域進行。為讓其他本地空域使用者清楚知悉有關空域可能有滑翔傘飛行活動,這些場地的邊界和操作高度已載於香港航行資料匯編 (Hong Kong Aeronautical Information Publication) 中的ENR 5.5章節(https://www.ais.gov.hk/eaip_20200521/VH-history-en-US.html).

      • (一) 浪茄灣
      • (二) 北潭凹
      • (三) 八仙
      • (四) 馬鞍山
      • (五) 西灣
      • (六) 石澳
      • (七) 南大嶼山以東
      • (八) 南大嶼山以西

      為保障安全,滑翔傘飛行活動者應確保滑翔傘活動在上述空域的範圍內進行。

    • 滑翔傘飛行活動者亦須避免於任何公眾泳灘上空進行滑翔傘飛行活動或降落在任何公眾泳灘,亦不應在未經土地擁有人許可的情況下,降落在私人物業上。
  3. 在飛行前,滑翔傘飛行活動者應:

    • 確保具備合適資格和能力,及身體狀況適合的情況下進行滑翔傘飛行活動。
    • 確保已為活動購買足夠保障的保險,尤其是第三者保險。
    • 充分掌握和熟習滑翔傘場地的特性,包括載於香港航行資料匯編的場地邊界、適合作為起飛和降落的場地及其潛在危險。
    • 進行風險評估,包括但不限於當時的場地狀況,並清楚明白活動涉及的風險。
    • 查看場地的天氣狀況,包括場地的天氣預報,以確保適合進行滑翔傘飛行活動,並確認沒有相關的天氣警告或惡劣天氣預報。
    • 確保滑翔傘、座袋和安全設備狀況良好、傘繩沒有斷裂或磨損。滑翔傘和座袋應在符合設備的重量限制內操作。
    • 在傘翼充氣前對設備進行檢查,包括但不限於:
      • - 繫緊座袋腿帶
      • - 以正確方向連接傘翼
      • - 裝妥加速裝置
      • - 確保操縱繩沒有互相打結
      • - 確保後備傘穩固(如適用)
  4. 在飛行期間,滑翔傘飛行活動者應:

    • 時刻留意周圍的情況,並依照適用於滑翔傘活動的規則及國際認可的操作守則,避免與其他滑翔傘/飛機發生碰撞。
    • 考慮當前的天氣狀況、滑翔傘飛行活動者的技術水平及滑翔傘的操作性能,時刻與其他滑翔傘/飛機保持足夠距離。
    • 與地面上的人和物件保持安全距離,以確保滑翔傘活動不會危及他人和財產。
    • 按自己的能力飛行,注意滑翔傘裝備的限制。
    • 注意天氣突變,如遇上惡劣天氣,應立即降落。
  5. 雙人滑翔傘飛行

    • 雙人滑翔傘飛行涉及額外的操作考慮,亦會構成額外安全風險。滑翔傘飛行活動者除了須採取與雙人滑翔傘飛行活動相應的額外安全措施外(例如因應操作和第三者(包括乘客)安全進行更嚴謹的風險評估、具備雙人滑翔傘飛行所需的資格和能力等),滑翔傘飛行活動者須確保乘客有足夠保障的保險,並確認乘客充分了解活動中涉及的風險。
    • 若有關雙人滑翔傘飛行活動有可能涉及出租或受酬,請參閱第六段的法律要求。
  6. 滑翔傘用作出租或受酬(包括指導飛行)

    • 《空運(航空服務牌照)規例》(香港法例第448A章)訂明,除根據和按照民航處處長批給的許可證的條件,任何人不得使用任何飛機(包括滑翔傘)在香港提供任何航空服務。換言之,任何人士在未獲民航處處長批出許可證的情況下,以滑翔傘提供任何航空服務作出租或受酬,即屬違法。
  7. 注意:

    • 遵照飛行守則
    • 保障飛行安全

申請出租或受酬的滑翔傘活動許可證

  • 如任何人士或機構欲根據《空運(航空服務牌照)規例》(香港法例第448A章)就出租或受酬的滑翔傘活動申請許可證,該申請須遞交至民航處。申請表格DCA 122B「出租或受酬的不定期航班服務許可證的申請(滑翔傘)」可按此下載。
  • 如該滑翔傘活動並非作出租或受酬用途,則不需向民航處申請許可證。為確保滑翔傘活動能安全地進行,建議滑翔傘飛行活動者參照上述的滑翔傘活動安全指引
  • 所需的資料和文件已列於申請表格DCA 122B之附件部分「所需文件清單」(只有英文版本)。
  • 已填妥的申請表格及文件清單,須連同所有相關文件,在擬議飛行日期前至少28個工作天送達民航處。視乎擬議活動的複雜程度,民航處或需更多時間處理申請。建議許可證申請人,特別是首次申請之申請人,及早向民航處提交申請。
  • 申請須以電郵方式提交至[paragliding@cad.gov.hk]。文本檔案須為可攜式文件(PDF)或微軟Word格式,照片檔案須為PDF或JPEG格式。如資料不全或不足,申請過程或受阻延。
  • 申請人須向民航處遞交其操作手冊及其他資料文件,以供審核。民航處會根據一系列的準則 (只有英文版本),以航空安全角度考慮是否發出許可證。

香港航空法例考試(滑翔傘)

  • 滑翔傘飛行活動者或滑翔傘導師如欲申請上述許可證以作出租或受酬用途,必須於香港航空法例考試(滑翔傘)中取得合格成績,以支持其申請。因應所提交的申請表格和其他所需文件,本處將安排申請人考試。香港航空法例考試(滑翔傘)的目的,是評估申請人對香港航空規例、飛行規則和本地環境的理解。航空法例考試(滑翔傘)考試範圍可按此下載。(只有英文版本)

查詢