Screening Equipment

Requirements

1. X-ray Screening Equipment

CAD's requirements on X-ray Screening Equipment are set out in the following documents:

  1. The document "Technical Requirements for X-ray Equipment" (RACSF applicants shall obtain this document from CAD by submitting an email request to racsf@cad.gov.hk, prior to completing the application form);
  2. Part II Section 10 of the RACSF Application Form; and
  3. Part A Section 2.5 of the Handling Procedures for RACSF, which requires an RACSF to maintain the x-ray images / recordings of screened cargoes, e.g. by using the image capturing / recording function of the x-ray screening equipment or any other acceptable means by CAD, for at least 31 days after screening is conducted.

RACSF applicants shall submit the documents as required under Part II Section 10.2 of the RACSF Application Form for CAD's assessment. For ETD, please also submit an alarm resolution procedure to handle positive ETD alarms for CAD's assessment. For ETD not using any radioactive substance, Irradiating Apparatus Licence from the Radiation Board Hong Kong may not be required.

2. Explosive trace detection (ETD) equipment (shall only be used as alternative screening methods for screening of air cargo which are difficult or cannot be screened by x-ray equipment, or as a secondary screening method)

CAD's requirements on ETD Equipment are set out in the following documents

  1. The document " Requirements for Security Screening Equipment/System" (RACSF applicants shall obtain this document from CAD by submitting an email request to racsf@cad.gov.hk, prior to completing the application form);
  2. Part II Section 10 of the RACSF Application Form; and
  3. Part A Section 2.5 of the Handling Procedures for RACSF, which requires an RACSF to maintain the analysis results of ETD, e.g. by using the storage functions of ETD analysis results or any other acceptable means by CAD, for at least 31 days after screening is conducted.

RACSF applicants shall submit the documents as required under Part II Section 10.2 of the RACSF Application Form for CAD's assessment. For ETD not using any radioactive substance, Irradiating Apparatus Licence from the Radiation Board Hong Kong may not be required.

Selection of Screening Equipment

General speaking, RACSF applicants may make reference to the lists of screening equipment which have been certified by aviation security authorities, such as the European Civil Aviation Conference (ECAC) of the European Commission, Transportation Security Administration (TSA) of the USA, Department for Transport (DfT) of the UK and Civil Aviation Administration of China (CAAC).

To further facilitate the trade in selecting suitable screening equipment, CAD herewith provides a list of the make and model of screening equipment, which were submitted by RACSF applicants and were accepted-in-principle by CAD, for reference by the trade. The updated list is as follows:

List of Screening Equipment PDF (PDF: 398KB)

Applicants’ attention is drawn to the following:

  1. The above list is for reference purpose only and should not be construed as an exhaustive list of equipment that RACSF applicants can choose from, nor will it waive the requirement for applicants to submit the documents as required under Part II Section 10.2 of the RACSF application form. Applicants should still follow the standard application processes (i.e. Route A / Route B) and submit the technical documents for assessment by CAD.
  2. Final acceptance of the screening equipment is still subject to a set of conditions specified in the RACSF scheme, including but not limited to the actual site conditions and security provisions, the satisfactory performance of individual screening equipment in Factory Acceptance Test (FAT) and Site Acceptance Test (SAT), the obtainment of Irradiating Apparatus Licence from the Radiation Board of Hong Kong (if applicable), the submission of an updated Operations Manual, etc;
  3. When selecting screening equipment, applicants are reminded to check with respective aircraft operators (airlines) for specific requirements on the make and model or other technical aspects of the screening equipment, if any, of other jurisdictions / countries / aircraft operators to which the export cargo are tendered.

安檢設備

要求

1. X光檢查設備

民航處對於X光檢查設備的要求載於以下文件:

  1. 《X光檢查設備技術規定》(只有英文版)(管制空運貨物安檢設施申請人[下稱申請人] 須在填寫申請表格之前,透過電郵racsf@cad.gov.hk 向民航處遞交書面申請,以索取本文件);
  2. 管制空運貨物安檢設施申請表第II部第10部分;以及
  3. 管制空運貨物安檢設施貨物處理程序 (只有英文版) 的A部分第2.5節:該部分要求管制空運貨物安檢設施必須備存已安檢貨物的X光影像/錄影,例如使用X光檢查設備的儲存影像/錄影功能或其他民航處接納的方法。由實施安檢的日期起計,備存最少31日的記錄。

申請人應按照管制空運貨物安檢設施申請表第二部分第10.2節的要求向民航處提交文件,以作評估。就有關爆炸物痕量探測設備的申請,請同時提交警報解決程序供民航處評估,以處理爆炸物痕量探測的警報。若該爆炸物痕量探測設備不含任何放射性物質,則或毋需提交香港輻射管理局發出的輻照儀器牌照。

2. 爆炸物痕量探測設備(ETD)(只可用作就難以或無法以X 光檢查的空運貨物進行安檢的替代方法,或用作次要安檢方法)

民航處對於爆炸物痕量探測設備的要求載於以下文件:

  1. 《安檢設備/系統的要求》(只有英文版)(申請人須在填寫申請表格之前,透過電郵racsf@cad.gov.hk 向民航處遞交書面申請,以索取本文件);
  2. 管制空運貨物安檢設施申請表第II部第10部分;以及
  3. 管制空運貨物安檢設施貨物處理程序 (只有英文版) 的A部分第2.5節:該部分要求管制空運貨物安檢設施必須備存爆炸物痕量探測設備檢查的分析結果,例如使用爆炸物痕量探測設備的分析結果儲存功能或其他民航處接納的方法。由實施安檢的日期起計,備存最少31日的記錄。

申請人應按照管制空運貨物安檢設施申請表第二部分第10.2節的要求向民航處提交文件,以作評估。若該爆炸物痕量探測設備不含任何放射性物質,則或毋需提交香港輻射管理局發出的輻照儀器牌照。

安檢設備的選擇

一般而言,申請人可參考由其他航空保安當局認證的安檢設備清單,例如 經歐洲委員會(EC)的歐洲民用航空會議(ECAC)、美國運輸安全局(TSA)、英國交通部(DFT)和中國民用航空局(CAAC)所認證的安檢設備。

為了更便利業界選擇合適的安檢設備,民航處現提供一份清單,列出曾由申請人提交並已獲得民航處原則上接受的安檢設備的品牌及型號,以供業界參考。最新版本如下:

安檢設備清單 PDF (PDF: 398KB)

申請人請注意以下幾點:

  1. 清單上列出的安檢設備的品牌及型號僅供參考之用,它們並不代表申請人僅能在該清單內選擇安檢設備。即使申請人決定選擇清單上的安檢設備,也不會獲豁免申請表第II部分第10.2節內向民航處提交文件的要求。 申請人仍須遵循申請表上的標準申請程序(即申請程序A 或申請程序B)向民航處提交技術文件,以作評估。
  2. 安檢設備的最終驗收仍受若干管制空運貨物安檢設施計劃中的條件所限,包括但不限於安檢設施的現場環境和保安配備、個別安檢設備的廠內驗收測試(FAT)及實地驗收測試(SAT)的表現、能否獲得由香港輻射管理局就個別設備發出的牌照/批准書(如適用)、提供最新設備操作手冊等。
  3. 當選擇安檢設備時,申請人須與相關飛機營運者 (航空公司) 聯繫,以了解出口貨物目的地的司法管轄區/國家/航空公司是否對安檢設備的型號或在技術要求方面有任何特別的規定。