Home > Topical issues > Aircraft Noise Management

Flight Path

Design

1. The flight paths for the new Hong Kong International Airport (HKIA) were developed through careful studies. In accordance with international standards and recommendations, their development took into account runway alignment, terrain environment and obstacle clearances, location of navigation aids, aircraft operating criteria, environmental consideration, airspace coordination with nearby airports, etc. Hong Kong is small in size and hilly in topography. It is not possible to design flight paths that are in compliance with international aviation safety requirements on the one hand and completely clear of all residential developments on the other. When Civil Aviation Department appointed international aviation experts to assist in the planning of the flight paths for the new airport in 1994, various factors had been taken into account, and in-depth studies were conducted before the current flight procedures were published for use.

Arrivals

2. The HKIA has 2 parallel runways (commonly called the North Runway and the South Runway) which run northeast to southwest. At present, the two runways are normally operated in a segregated mode, i.e. the South Runway dedicated for departures and the North Runway for arrivals (with the exception of cargo flights and the Government Flying Service’s aircraft which for operational reasons will normally use the South Runway for landing). However, there are circumstances where the airport may be operated with a single runway, for example, in the event of runway blockage or during scheduled maintenance periods at night.

3. The direction from which aircraft land at HKIA mainly depends upon the wind direction. For safety and operational reasons, aircraft generally land into the wind. When the wind is from the west or southwest (which is prevailing in summer), aircraft will approach HKIA from the northeast overflying Tseung Kwan O, Sai Kung, Ma On Shan, Shatin and Tsuen Wan (including Sham Tseng and Tsing Lung Tau). When the wind is from the east or northeast (which is prevailing in winter), aircraft will approach HKIA from the southwest (over water).

4. The map in Appendix A(Open with new window) shows the arrival flight paths to HKIA.

Departures

5.  The direction in which aircraft depart from HKIA also depends upon the wind direction. For operational reasons, aircraft generally take off into the wind. When the wind is from the west or southwest, aircraft will depart from HKIA initially towards the southwest until it is about 7 nautical miles from the runway where it will make a left turn. Depending on its destination, an aircraft may turn towards the east and pass over Hong Kong Island and Kowloon Peninsula, or turn towards a northerly direction, passing over the New Territories at a relatively high altitude.

6. When the wind is from the east or northeast, aircraft will depart from HKIA towards the northeast until it reaches Ma Wan where, depending on flight destinations, it may turn south over West Lamma Channel, or proceed to the southeast passing over Tsing Yi, the southern part of Kowloon Peninsula (such as Tsim Sha Tsui and Hung Hom) and the northern part of Hong Kong Island (such as North Point, Shaukeiwan and Chai Wan). Aircraft destined for mainland may overfly the New Territories but would be at a relatively high altitude.

7. The map in Appendix B(Open with new window) shows the Standard Instrument Departure (SID) tracks followed by departing aircraft from the South Runway of HKIA. SIDs are a set of standard procedures which pilots are required to follow in the absence of being given alternative instructions by an air traffic controller (ATC). Their primary purpose is to enable the efficient transition of departing aircraft from the airport to the upper level airways. Pilots are required to follow these routes unless instructed otherwise by ATC. For the efficient management of limited airspace, ATC may give pilots a more direct route to their destination or a radar heading for separation with other traffic.

8. It should be noted that an aircraft in flight cannot follow a track precisely like a train running along a railway track. There are many factors that may affect the aircraft's flown track - the wind speed and direction relative to the aircraft's intended flight path, the performance characteristics of the aircraft, tolerances in navigational aids and different piloting skills and techniques etc. In practice, the flown tracks may deviate either side of the nominal center line shown in the map in Appendix B(Open with new window). Past studies have shown that the majority of aircraft follow the assigned routes within 1.5 km either side of the nominal center line.

首页 > 专题资料 > 飞机噪音管理

飞机航道

航道的设计

1.新机场飞行航道的设计是经过周详的考虑。根据国际标准及建议,飞行航道的设计要考虑多项因素,包括跑道方向、地势环境及超越障碍物时所要求的高度距离、导航设备位置、飞行运作条件、环境污染问题、与邻近机场的空域协调等等。香港地少山多,所以并不能设计出一套既能符合国际民航安全准则而又完全避免飞越民居的飞行航道。民航处于一九九四年曾聘请国际航空专家协助设计新机场航道,专家在设计过程期间已考虑及深入研究过各项有关因素,才达致现时所采纳的新机场航道。

到港航道

2.香港机场有两条跑道(称为北跑道及南跑道),以东北至西南方向伸延。现时该两条跑道是采用“分隔模式”运作,即南跑道用作航机起飞,北跑道用作降落(基于运作原因,货运航机及政府飞行服务队的飞机仍会使用南跑道降落)。然而,在某些情况下,例如跑道受阻或在跑道维修期间,所有飞机升降便会安排在单跑道进行。

3.航机降落香港国际机场所使用的方向主要是决定于风向。基于安全及运作上的原因,飞机通常是逆风降落。当吹西南或西风时(一般在夏季),航机会被安排从东北方向经将军澳、西贡、马鞍山、沙田及荃湾(包括深井和青龙头)降落机场,当吹东或东北风时(一般在冬季) 机则从西南方向降落机场 。

4.附件甲(开启新视窗)显示到港航道航线图 。

离港航道

5.离港航机的起飞方向亦是取决于风向。基于运作的原因,飞机通常是逆风起飞。当吹西或西南风时,飞机会从机场向西南方向起飞至离开跑道大约七海里时转左,视乎各航班的目的地,飞机可转向东面方向经港岛及九龙半岛上空,或再北转在较高的飞行高度飞越新界上空。

6.当吹东或东北风时,飞机向东北方向起飞到马湾上空时,视乎航班的目的地,飞机可转向南经西博寮海峡离港,或向东南方向飞越青衣、九龙半岛(尖沙咀、红磡)及港岛北部(北角、筲箕湾及柴湾)上空。而往中国大陆的航班则须北转在较高的飞行高度飞越新界上空 。

7.附件乙(开启新视窗)显示从香港国际机场南跑道起飞的“仪表离场”航道。在航空交通管制员没有特别指示的情况下,机师需依照“标准仪表离场”航道飞行。该飞行程序主要目的是帮助离港航机迅速地从机场爬升到指定的航道。为有效地利用有限的空域,航空交通管制员不时需要指示机师使用更直接往目的地的航道,或在交通繁忙时,航空交通管制员会指示机师采用其他方向以保持航机间之适当距离。

8.飞行中的飞机不能如火车般紧贴路轨行走。飞机在飞行中会受多方因素影响:这包括相对于飞行航道的风速及风向、飞机的操作性能、导航仪器的偏差、机师驾驶技巧等。基于以上原因,实际的飞行航道可能有别于附件乙(开启新视窗)所显示的航道中线。根据过往的资料显示,大部份航机都能在指定的航道中线左右各1公里半的范围内飞行 。