Home > Topical issues > Airspace

 

Constraints on HKIA Dual-runway Operation and Airspace Issue

Mr Norman Lo, Director-General of Civil Aviation
April 2, 2015

Recently some members of the public have challenged the planning of the three-runway system (3RS) at the Hong Kong International Airport (HKIA) on two issues: (1) whether the current capacity of two-runway system (2RS) can be expanded (and hence, the third runway would be unnecessary); and (2) whether the airspace issue can be resolved.

The maximum capacity of the existing two runways

Various studies had been conducted in the past to assess the capacity of the 2RS. The latest study was the Airspace and Runway Capacity Study commissioned by the Airport Authority of Hong Kong (AAHK) and carried out by National Air Traffic Services (NATS) in 2008, which was based on the latest air traffic control technology and international standards. According to this study, in full compliance with the safety standards/requirements of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), the maximum practical capacity that can be achieved with the existing 2RS would be 68 movements per hour.

Can the maximum capacity of the existing 2RS be further increased?

The capacity of the existing 2RS is constrained by two factors in which the ICAO has strict requirements and standards: (1) the need for spacing between aircraft due to the spiral air turbulence generated by operating aircraft (known as wake turbulence); and (2) the surrounding terrain near the runway.

Wake turbulence

Strong wake turbulence can cause the following aircraft to lose balance, thus affect flight safety. Therefore, the ICAO requires that a minimum spacing be maintained between aircraft during takeoff and landing. The heavier the aircraft, the stronger the wake turbulence and the larger the spacing would be required. Consequently, the capacity of a runway is limited.

Terrain constraints

The report of New Airport Master Plan (NAMP) in 1992 from the former Provisional Airport Authority, pointed out that, a pair of parallel runways under different modes of operation could in theory achieve different capacity ranging from 52 to 86 movements per hour (See table below). However, the NAMP report made clear that due to the mountains on the nearby Lantau Island, in order to achieve higher runway capacity, it would not be possible to operate in compliance to relevant ICAO standards on flight procedure, hence such operation was neither safe nor practicable.

Mode of Operation Practical Hourly Capacity Estimate
(a) Single-runway system 43 movements
(b) Dual-runway system with Segregated Operation (i.e. one runway used exclusively for approaches and the other exclusively for departures) 52 movements
(c) Dual-runway system in Mixed Operation
(i) Dependent Mixed Modes: departures and approaches on one runway must take into consideration an aircraft landing or departing on the parallel runway. The possible modes are as follow:
     (a) Dependent Approaches and Departures 69 movements
     (b) Independent Approaches and Dependent Departures; and 71 movements
     (c) Dependent Approaches and Independent Departures 79 movements
(ii) Independent Mixed Mode: Operation on one runway can take place completely separately and without interference from the parallel runway, as if the two runways were two different airports. 86 movements

The consultant commissioned by the Civil Aviation Department (CAD) in 1994 also pointed out that, due to the constraints from surrounding terrain, the maximum capacity of the 2RS could only be about 63 movements per hour. As previously mentioned, in 2008 NATS had conducted a thorough review of runway capacity of HKIA and confirmed that after implementing some 40 improvement recommendations, in full compliance to ICAO safety standards/requirements, the maximum runway capacity of 2RS could be increased to 68 movements per hour.

Some comments suggested that if the peak of Tai Yam Teng (610 feet) and Fa Peng Teng (810 feet) which are located at the North East of Lantau were removed, the runway capacity of the 2RS could be further increased. These comments claimed that removal of Tai Yam Teng and Fa Peng Teng were suggested in the 1992 NAMP report. In fact, the suggestion in the NAMP report was made in connection with possible options to enhance the climb gradient of contingency departure procedures for departing aircraft on engine out during initial climb (i.e. to reduce restriction on the aircraft engine out climb performance). In order to attain the theoretical maximum runway capacity outlined in the NAMP report, i.e. 86 movements per hour, and conforming to the safety standards/requirements of the ICAO, most of the high peaks on Lantau Island, including Lantau Peak, Sunset Peak and other high mountains, would have to be levelled. Major infrastructure and landmarks like Ngong Ping Cable Car, Big Buddha and Po Lin Monastery would also be affected, not to mention that most of these areas fall within the boundaries of the Lantau Country Parks. . Therefore, the proposed removal of high peaks is neither practical nor feasible.

The "Air wall" issue

There have also been concerns on the constraints imposed by the so-called "air wall". In fact this is not an appropriate term as in reality there is no "wall"-type segregation between different airspaces. To ensure that aircraft in adjacent airspaces can operate concurrently in a safe and efficient manner, every aircraft must reach a certain altitude and geographic location before an air traffic control (ATC) unit may hand over control of that aircraft to another ATC unit. This is to ensure that aircraft in adjacent airspace flying in opposite directions can fly at various altitudes and prevent collisions. This air traffic management arrangement of "Transfer of control point" aims to safeguard flight safety, and is commonly applied at busy airports all over the world, including those in London and New York.

Airspace issue

The Tripartite Working Group (TWG), set up by the Civil Aviation Administration of China (CAAC), CAD of Hong Kong and the Civil Aviation Authority of Macao (CAAM), drew up the "Pearl River Delta Region Air Traffic Management Planning and Implementation Plan (2007 Plan)" after three years of work and more than 10 rounds of meetings at various working levels. The maximum capacity of 102 movements per hour under the 3RS operation at HKIA as proposed by AAHK is based on this 2007 Plan.

2007 Plan

The 2007 Plan has clear objectives and contents. As per the press release issued by the CAAC on 15 February 2007, the Plan "aiming at strengthening the synergy of collaborative operations between all three parties, taken into consideration of terminal airspace structure, ATC operation standards and ATC operation procedures, defined three phases of the planning and development of Pearl River Delta (PRD) air traffic management. With the use of state-of-the-art computer-simulation and evaluation techniques, technical experts from the three parties conducted analysis and concluded that the Plan could generally satisfy the development needs of aviation industry in the PRD region in 2020".

At the TWG meeting held on 18 June 2012, all parties expressed their support for HKIA adopting the 3RS as the future development option, and to the CAD using such a proposal for air traffic management and planning purposes. The Central Government has always supported Hong Kong in cementing its position as an international aviation hub and developing the 3RS. We strongly believe that the Mainland, Hong Kong and Macau will be able to implement, in accordance with the 2007 Plan, all enhancement and collaborative measures conducive to the development of the five major airports in the PRD region.

主页 > 专题资料 > 空域

 

香港国际机场双跑道运作的局限和空域问题

民航处处长罗崇文
二零一五年四月二日

近期有关香港国际机场「三跑道」系统规划,坊间有质疑(一)目前「双跑」系统下是否仍有扩充容量的空间(因而就无需建第三跑道);及(二)空域问题能否解决。

现时双跑道最高容量

过往曾有多项专家顾问研究,评估「双跑」系统的容量。最近期的一次是于2008年,机场管理局委托英国航空专家英国国家航空交通服务有限公司(NATS),按照最新的航空交通管制技术和国际标准,为香港国际机场进行「空域及跑道容量研究」。根据该研究,在完全符合国际民航组织的安全标准/规定的情况下,「双跑」系统的实际最高容量为每小时68架次飞机升降量。

现时双跑道最高容量可否再增加?

现时「双跑」系统的容量主要受两个因素限制:(一)因为航机在飞行时会产生螺旋形的不稳定气流(称为尾流湍流),因此航机与航机之间需要保持间距;(二)跑道附近地势。国际民航组织对两者都有严格的规定和标准。

尾流湍流

由于强烈的尾流湍流可引致尾随航机失去平衡,影响飞行安全,所以国际民航组织规定航机之间在跑道升降时必须保持一定最少间距。航机重量越大,所产生的尾流湍流越强越大,所需的间距越多,跑道容量因此而受到限制。

地势限制

1992年临时机管局的《新机场总纲计划》(《总纲计划》)报告提出,双跑道在不同模式下运作,理论上可达至每小时52至86架次不等(见下图表);但报告总结也清楚指出,因受到周边大屿山的高山阻碍,要达到较高容量,并不可能符合国际民航组织有关飞行程序的标准,既不安全也不切实际。

起降模式 估计每小时的实际容量
(a) 单跑道系统 43架次
(b) 采用分隔起降模式运作的双跑道系统(即一条跑道专供航机降落,另一条专供航机起飞) 52架次
(c) 采用混合起降模式运作的双跑道系统
(i) 非独立混合起降模式 – 航机在一条跑道上起飞或降落时,必须顾及另一架在平行跑道上正在起飞或降落的航机。可出现的模式如下:
     (a) 非独立进场和起飞模式; 69架次
     (b) 独立进场但非独立起飞模式;及 71架次
     (c) 非独立进场但独立起飞模式。 79架次
(ii) 独立混合起降模式 – 一条跑道完全独立运作,不会对平行跑道造成干扰。两条跑道犹如两个不同机场般运作 86架次

民航处于1994年委聘的顾问亦指出,碍于邻近高山限制,「双跑」的最高升降容量只约为每小时63架次。正如上文提及,2008年,英国NATS全面检视香港国际机场的容量,确认经引进40多项优化措施及应用最新的空管技术,在完全符合国际民航组织的安全标准/规定的情况下,双跑道系统最高容量可增至每小时68架次。

有意见认为,假如按照1992年临时机管局《总纲计划》的建议,削去位于大屿山东北的大阴顶(高610呎)及花瓶顶(高810呎)两个峰顶,便可以进一步增加「双跑」系统的容量。然而《总纲计划》的有关建议,实际上只是针对减低离港航机在引擎失去动力的情况下而采取紧急离场程式时的爬升率。若要达到《总纲计划》所提及理论上的最高跑道容量,即每小时86架次,而又同时能符合国际民航组织的安全运作要求,便须要削除大屿山大部分高山的峰顶,包括凤凰山、大东山及其他高山。位于受影响范围内的重要基建设施/地标(例如昂坪缆车、天坛大佛和宝莲禅寺)将会因此受到影响,而且大部分受影响的地方均坐落于大屿山郊野公园范围之内。因此,所谓「削山」办法并不实际,也不可行。

「空墙」问题

社会上有人关注所谓「空墙」的限制。其实这个用语并不准确,空域与空域之间实际上并不存在「墙壁」式的分隔。为确保位于毗连空域内的航机能同时安全有效地运作,航机须遵照指定高度及地理位置才可由一个空管单位移交至另一个空管单位,让不同航机在毗连空域对飞时可维持不同高度飞行,从而避免冲突。这项「空管移交点」安排,旨在保障飞行安全,亦是世界各地如伦敦、纽约等繁忙机场惯常采用的措施。

空域问题

由国家民航局、香港民航处与澳门民航局组成的三方工作组经三年时间、10多次不同层面的协调会议致达成共识,共同制订的珠三角空管规划与实施方案(2007年方案)。机管局提出「三跑」系统可达至的最高容量(即每小时102架次),便是基于2007年方案。

2007年方案

2007年方案是有具体目标和内容的方案。按国家民航局2007年2月15日的新闻公布,该方案「立足于加强三方之间的协同管制运行,从终端区空域结构、管制运行标准、管制运行程序等三个方面,明确了珠三角地区空管分三个阶段的发展规划。三方技术人员利用先进的计算机仿真评估技术对规划方案进行了分析研究后得出的结论是,该方案基本可以满足2020年珠三角地区航空运输发展的需求」。

2012年6月18日的三方工作组会议上,与会各方对香港国际机场以「三跑」系统作未来发展方向,以及民航处以这个方案作空管规划用途,均表示支持。

中央有关部委一向支持香港巩固其国际航空枢纽的作用及发展「三跑」。我们深信内地与港、澳三方定必可以在2007年方案下,推展各项有利珠三角地区五大机场共同发展所需的各项优化和协调措施。