Home > Topical issues > Air Traffic Control & Aeronautical Communications Personnel

Training for Air Traffic Control and Aeronautical Communication Personnel

Air Traffic Control Officer (ATCO)

ATCO are normally promoted from the rank of Student Air Traffic Control Officer (SATCO) who have successfully passed all the requisite basic trainings. The pay scale for SATCO is TPS Point 11 - 14.  Job experience in the profession will start with working as supporting staff in the Air Traffic Control Centre and Control Tower providing assistance to qualified ATCOs. As part of the air traffic control training, SATCO have the opportunity to take up overseas flying training in single-engine light aircraft. Subject to satisfactory performance, SATCO will also be selected to attend an overseas air traffic control course to enhance their aviation knowledge and to broaden their exposure in air traffic control operations. The course will include fundamental aviation subjects such as navigation, meteorology, telecommunications, aviation laws and air traffic control procedures etc.

SATCO taking up flying training in Australia
SATCO taking up flying training overseas

Upon return from the overseas training, SATCOs will be provided with specialized air traffic control training on local procedures. The training programmes include theories, practical exercises in the simulators and on-the-job training in the real operational environment under the supervision of qualified controllers. A SATCO is eligible for consideration for promotion to ATCO III after passing the first departmental Specialized Rating Training course leading to the award of the associated Air Traffic Control Ratings and Certificates of Competency.

Practical training in the Aerodrome Control Simulator
Practical training in the Aerodrome Control Simulator

After a period of solo control consolidation, ATCO III are normally selected for further training in other Air Traffic Control positions. Upon obtaining the relevant qualifications, ATCO III will be eligible for consideration for promotion to the ATCO II rank. Senior ATCO II will be provided with advanced professional training, e.g. Search & Rescue and training to become an on the job training instructor etc, to prepare them for duties of higher responsibilities.

SATCO undergoing on-the-job training
ATCO III undergoing on-the-job training in radar control position

Air Traffic Flight Services Officer (ATFSO)

ATFSO are supporting staff to ATCO. Their main duties include processing of flight data and aeronautical information using advanced computer systems. ATFSO are recruited locally and they normally enter the service as ATFSO III at pay scale of TPS Pt. 5 to 6. Training of ATFSO is provided in-house in accordance with a departmental training programme. After each course of instructions, the officer will undergo on-the-job training in the Air Traffic Control Centre, Control Tower and the Aeronautical Information Centre. Successful completion of basic training will lead to attainment of qualifications as required for promotion to ATFSO II rank.

ATFSO processing Flight Plan data in the Air Traffic Control Centre
ATFSO processing Flight Plan data in the Air Traffic Control Centre

As part of the career development, ATFSO II will be trained for duties with higher responsibilities such as communication and co-ordination with air traffic control units in neighbouring air traffic control authorities using hotlines and data links. Upon obtaining the relevant qualifications, the officers will be eligible for progressive promotion to ATFSO I and Senior ATFSO.


ATFSO working as Briefing Assistant in the Aeronautical Information Centre
ATFSO working as Briefing Assistant in the Aeronautical Information Centre

 

ATFSO performing supporting duties in the Aerodrome Control Tower

ATFSO performing supporting duties in the Aerodrome Control Tower

 

Aeronautical Communications Officer (ACO)

The Aeronautical Communications Officer (ACO) is responsible for the provision of aeronautical communication services in Hong Kong via a worldwide network of switching systems and fixed circuits. The aeronautical communication services include Aeronautical Fixed Services, Aeronautical Broadcasting Services and Regional OPMET Bulletin Exchange Scheme.

Aeronautical Communications Officers are recruited locally and they normally enter the service as Student Aeronautical Communications Officer (SACO) at Training Pay Scale 4 to 6. SACOs are required to undergo on average one and a half years training. They have to complete the requisite classroom training and acquire the necessary certifications before undertaking the on-the-job training in various operating positions in the Aeronautical Network Centre (ANC). Successful candidates will be promoted to the rank of Aeronautical Communications Officer II (ACO II).

Aeronautical Communications Officers on duty at the Aeronautical Network Centre
Aeronautical Communications Officers on duty at the Aeronautical Network Centre

 

Aeronautical Communications Officer broadcasts meteorological information to aircraft in flight
Aeronautical Communications Officer broadcasts meteorological information to aircraft in flight

 

As part of the career development, profession training and career training will be arranged for ACO II to acquire the necessary qualifications for progressive promotion to senior ranks such as Aeronautical Communications Officer I (ACO I), Aeronautical Communications Supervisor (ACS), Senior Aeronautical Communications Supervisor (SACS) and Chief Aeronautical Communications Supervisor (CACS) accordingly.

主頁 > 專題資料 > 航空交通管制員和航空通訊員的培訓

航空交通管制員和航空通訊員的培訓

航空交通管制主任

航空交通管制主任一般從成功通過基本培訓之見習航空交通管制主任職級晉升,薪級屬見習職級薪級表第11至14點。 在實際工作方面,他們首先會被派到航空交通管制中心和指揮塔台擔任管制支援,協助具備認可資格的航空交通管制主任工作。在培訓過程中,見習航空交通管制主任有機會到海外接受駕駛輕型單引擎飛機的飛行訓練。此外表現良好者更會獲挑選參加一項海外航空交通管制課程,以增加航空知識和擴闊他們所接觸的航空交通管制運作認識。課程內容涵蓋導航、氣象、電訊、航空法例和航空交通管制程序等基本航空課題。

見習航空交通管制主任在海外接受飛行訓練
見習航空交通管制主任在海外接受飛行訓練

見習航空交通管制主任完成海外訓練返港後,將會接受專業航空交通管制及本地航管程序訓練。 訓練 課程包括理論、模擬機實習訓練,以及在符合資格的管制人員監督下,於實際運作環境中接受在職訓練。當他們通過第一個部門專科等級訓練課程並取得相關航空交通管制執照後,便有資格獲考慮晉升為三級航空交通管制主任 。

在指揮塔模擬機作實習訓練
在指揮塔模擬機作實習訓練

一般來說,在鞏固工作經驗後,三級航空交通管制主任會獲選進一步接受其他航空交通管制職位的訓練。在取得相關航空交通管制資格後,三級航空交通管制主任便有資格獲考慮晉升為二級航空交通管制主任。至於資深的二級航空交通管制主任,則會獲安排接受專業深造訓練,例如搜索和拯救訓練以及在職培訓導師訓練,以栽培他們承擔更重要的職責。

三級航空交通管制主任進行雷達崗位實習培訓
三級航空交通管制主任進行雷達崗位實習培訓

航空交通事務員

航空交通事務員的工作是為航空交通管制主任提供支援,主要職責包括使用先進電腦系統處理飛行數據和飛航資料。航空交通事務員是本地招聘,一般入職級別為三級航空交通事務員,薪級屬見習職級薪級表第5至6點。航空交通事務員會接受由民航處安排的內部培訓,在完成每個單元課程後,都會被派到航空交通管制中心、指揮塔台和航空情報中心接受在職訓練。他們在順利完成這些基本訓練後,便具備晉升為二級航空交通事務員的資格。

在發展職業前途的過程中,二級航空交通事務員會繼續接受培訓,以便承擔更重要的職責,例如使用熱線和數據鏈路與鄰近國家的航空交通管制單位進行溝通和互相協調。在取得有關資格後,他們即具備逐步晉升為一級航空交通事務員和高級航空交通事務員的資格。

 

學習航空交通管制程序
學習航空交通管制程序

在職期間,二級航空交通事務員須接受高級航空交通事務的訓練。當他們取得有關的專業資格後,便有機會晉升至一級航空交通事務員和高級航空交通事務員的職級。

航空交通事務員正在利用電腦系統處理飛行資料

航空交通事務員正在利用電腦系統處理飛行資料
航空交通事務員正在利用電腦系統處理飛行資料

航空通訊員

航空通訊員的主要工作是負責通過交換系統和固定網路組成的全球網絡,與鄰近地區的機場進行點對點通訊,提供在香港的航空通訊服務。航空通訊業務範圍包括固定航空通訊服務,航空氣象廣播服務及區域航道氣象交換方案。

航空通訊員是從本地招聘的。入職級別通常為見習航空通訊員,薪級屬見習職級表第四至六點。見習航空通訊員須接受平均約一年半時間的訓練。學員須先在課堂訓練的考試取得合格証書,然後才可在航空網絡中心的各種操作職位接受在職訓練。完成訓練而成績良好的學員會獲晉升為二級航空通訊員。

航空通訊員在航空網絡中心當值

航空通訊員在航空網絡中心當值

 

航空通訊員向飛行中的飛機廣播氣象消息

航空通訊員向飛行中的飛機廣播氣象消息

 

在職其間,作為職業發展的一部分,我們會為航空通訊員提供職業培訓,讓他們獲得所需的資格,逐步晉升至高級的行列,如一級航空通訊員,航空通訊主任,高級航空通訊主任和總航空通訊主任。