Home > Topical issues > Aerodrome Operating Minima

Aerodrome Operating Minima

Airline operators for public transport must submit the details regarding their Aerodrome Operating Minima (AOM) to the Civil Aviation Department before commencing operations at the Hong Kong International Airport (HKIA).

AOM contains instructions for the pilots under what visibility (in terms of Runway Visual Range (RVR)) and/ or cloud ceiling can the aircraft take off, and under what visibility (again in terms of RVR) and visual reference can the aircraft continue the approach to land from the decision altitude (for precision approaches, e.g. Instrument Landing System (ILS)) or from the minimum descent altitude (for non-precision approaches).

There are a number of factors affecting the values of AOM. They include aerodrome terrain profile, aircraft capability (e.g. aircraft climb performance, avionics capability), aerodrome equipment capability (e.g. runway lighting system and ILS), pilot capability, individual company’s standard operating procedures and State regulations.

When establishing the AOM, an operator has to conform to rules laid down by the State (or Region) of the Operator. Further more, it also has to account for any restrictions which might be applied by the State (or Region) of the Aerodrome.

Responsibility of the State (or Region) of the Operator

The State (or Region) of the Operator has the responsibility for the approval of the method used to establish such minima, and for supervising compliance with those rules it may prescribe for the operator as a whole.

Responsibility of the State (or Region) of the Aerodrome

The State (or Region) of the Aerodrome has to provide data such as Obstacle Clearance Altitude/ Height (OCA/ H), details of electronic aids for an approach to landing, etc, to enable an operator to establish AOM for each runway intended to be used at that particular aerodrome. Since the State (or Region) of the Aerodrome has the responsibility for safety of air navigation within its own Flight Information Region (FIR), it follows that it retains that authority to accept the AOM submitted by the operators.

Under Air Navigation (Hong Kong) Order 1995 (AN(HK)O 1995), operators for public transport are required to submit the details regarding their AOM to the Hong Kong Civil Aviation Department (HKCAD) before commencing operations at the Hong Kong International Airport (HKIA). For foreign operators to meet this requirement, while applying to operate to Hong Kong in accordance with GEN 1.2 of the Aeronautical Information Publication (AIP), in addition to other documents required to be submitted to HKCAD for assessment, the operators who wish to conduct low visibility operations at the HKIA shall submit the following information :-

a) The completed DCA Form 236 (Open with new window)to show the operator's CAT II/III minima authorised by their State; and
b) The CAT II/III authorisation issued by their State.

Detailed requirements relating to AOM are published in the AD 1.1 of AIP and/or Aeronautical Information Circulars (AICs) in http://www.hkatc.gov.hk (Open with new window).

首頁 > 專題資料 > 機場最低飛行條件

機場最低飛行條件

簡介

提供公共運輸服務的航空公司在香港國際機場營運前,必須向民航處提交其機場最低飛行條件的詳細資料。

機場最低飛行條件讓飛行員知道,航空器在什麼能見度﹝以跑道能見距離來說﹞及 / 或雲幕高度下才可起飛;以及航空器在什麼能見度﹝以跑道能見距離來說﹞及目視基準下,才可從決斷高度﹝用於如使用儀表著陸系統的精確進場﹞或最低下降高度﹝用於非精確進場﹞繼續進場著陸。

機場最低飛行條件受多項因素影響,包括機場地形、航空器性能﹝例如:航空器爬升性能、航空電子性能﹞、機場設備的功能﹝例如:跑道照明系統及儀表著陸系統﹞、飛行員的能力、個別公司的標準運作程序及其所屬國家或地區的規則。

航空器營運人在確立機場最低飛行條件時須遵守其所屬國家或地區所訂下的規則,亦要顧及機場所屬國家或地區可能施加的任何限制。

營運人所屬國家或地區對機場最低飛行條件的責任

營運人所屬國家或地區須負責批核用以確立最低飛行條件的方法,並且有責任監察有關運作規則的整體遵行情況。

機場所屬國家或地區對機場最低飛行條件的責任

機場所屬國家或地區須提供資料,例如:超障安全高度、協助進場著陸的電子輔助設備的詳細資料等,使營運人能夠就某個機場內擬定使用的每條跑道確立機場最低飛行條件。鑑於機場所屬國家或地區須負責其境內的航空安全,該國或地區有權決定是否接納營運人所提交的機場最低飛行條件。

根據香港法律《1995年飛航﹝香港﹞令》,公共運輸營運人在香港國際機場營運前,須向香港民航處提交其機場最低飛行條件的詳細資料。海外營運人如欲在香港國際機場進行低氣象條件運作,則須在根據香港航空資料匯編 (AIP) GEN1.2申請在本港營運時,除提交各有關文件予本處審批外,附上以下資料:

(一) 填妥民航處公用表格236(開啟新視窗) ,以列明其所屬國家航空當局所授權的 II / III類最低飛行條件;及

(二) 其所屬國家航空當局發出的II / III類運作授權書。

有關香港國際機場最低飛行條件的詳細資料,已於http://www.hkatc.gov.hk(開啟新視窗)上的航空資料匯編AD1.1和航空情報資料通報 (AIC) 公布。